2008 3rd Global Shipping SummitTHE 3RD SHIPPING MART CONFERENCE|English中文版
Mr. Kang Shuchun
Mr. Kang Shuchun

CEO of Shippingchina.com

Honorary Minister Qian Yongchang, Mr. Wei Jiafu, Mr. Li Shaode, Mr. Ye Jian, all the present media, ladies and gentlemen:

Year 2008 is an unforgettable year, when China hosted Olympic Games, financial crisis occurred and China’s opening-up and reform policy has been adopted for 30 years. At this critical period, ShippingChina.com organizes this conference to retrospect the past history and speculate bright future.

Here I will give my thanks to Mr. Ye Jian, who has enlightened me by his idea “Human civilization and economy are closely related with water”.

In this era of globalization, ocean transport has become main body of international trade. From Zhenghe’s navigation to West 700 years ago, China’s ocean transport has experienced difficulties and finally we stride into the international shipping giant nation today.

To celebrate the 30 Years Anniversary of China’s adoption of opening-up and reform policy and welcome the upcoming 60th birthday of new China, Public Appraisal of Shipping Dedicators for China Shipping 60 Years Anniversary is initiated by SHIPPINGCHINA. COM and is jointly organized by China Shipping and Port Academy, China Communication and Transportation Association (CCTA), China Shipowners Association (CSA), China Association of Port-of-Entry (CAOP) and Dalian Maritime University. The curtain for “China Shipping 60 Years Anniversary Dedicators Selection” has been completely opened in Shanghai in May 2008. After over on year’s preparation, the result will be released tonight. And we will show my gratitude to COSCO group, China Shipping Group, China-Polish Company, China Merchants Group and so on. And I also want to show my gratitude to the support of distinguished senior officials.

Taking “Tracing Blue Ocean Footprint, Glimpsing Glorious Shipping Century” as the theme, this public appraisal of China shipping dedicators is a review of China shipping figures who have made great contributions to and created historical events in China shipping industry in each historical period.

This China shipping dedicators covers China shipping industry in three historical periods:
1) Pioneering stage (1949-1978)
This period from foundation of new China in 1949 to adoption of reform and opening-up policy in 1978 was an exploring stage for China shipping industry.
2) Development stage (1978-2000)
China’s adoption of reform and opening-up policy in 1978 is an impetus for development of China shipping industry.
3) Internationalization stage (2000-Now)
China’s entering WTO accelerates China shipping industry’s interaction with the rest of the world.
Based on the criteria of entrepreneurship, contribution, international influence and innovation, over 100 candidates were primarily nominated by seeking opinions from experts and giant enterprises and through on-line voting. Upon repeated appraisals by judges and experts, the list of China shipping dedicators are finally confirmed as follows:
List of China Shipping Dedicators (In alphabetic sequence of name)
Bao Haoxian    Former Captain in COSCO Shanghai
Bei Hanting    Former Guide Captain in COSCO Shanghai
Chen Hongze    Former Captain of “Guanghua” in COSCO Guangzhou; the first far ocean captain in new China
Fang Zhenliu    Former Captain of “Hailiao” in China Merchants Group; the first revolution captain in Liberation War of new China
Fu Yuning    President of China Merchants Group
Gao Yanming    Board of Chairman of Hebei Ocean Shipping Company
Jiang Bo    Former vice chairman of China Merchants Group
Jin Yueshi    Former Pilot in Shanghai Port, the first pioneer in China’s resumption of exercise of maritime sovereignty
Kong Qingfen    The first female captain in new China
Li Kejun    President of China Classification Society
Li Kelin    Former President of China Shipping Group
Li Shaode    President of China Shipping Group
Li Weizhong    General Manager of Chinese-Polish Joint Stock Shipping Company
Liu Gongchen    vice administer of Maritime Safety Administration, the PRC
Lu Guoji    Chairman of Minsheng Industrial (Group) Co., Ltd
Luo Kaifu    Former president of SINOTRANS
Qian Yongchang    Former Minister of Ministry of Transport, head of CCTA
Sun Jiakang    General Manager of COSCO Container Lines Co., Ltd
Tang Guoying    Former administer of Yangtze Maritime Bureau, Ministry of Transport
Wang Yafu    Former Chief Engineer in Guangzhou Ocean Shipping Company. The first female chief engineer in new China
Wei Jiafu    COSCO President
Xu Huixing    General Manager of COSCO Guangzhou
Ye Longwen    Captain of “Huatonghai” ship in COSCO
Ye Zhongyang    Director of Baijie Light House of Zhenhai Navigation Zone in Ningbo
Yu Mei    Former vice minister of Ministry of Transport
Yuan Geng    Former Vice Standing Chairman of China Merchants Group;  Former Secretary of Administrative Committee, Shekou Development Zone
Zhou Yanjin    Former Chief Engineer of COSCO, Chief Engineer of “Yong Hao” Ship

中国交通运输协会 中国船东协会 中国口岸协会 大连海事大学 国际海运网 中国港航研究院